Skip to content

January 2015…last year went by so fast!

January 10, 2015
The view from my chair in our booth at Poulsbo Farmers Market.

The view from my chair in our booth at Poulsbo Farmers Market.

Last year went by so fast it was a blur! I started out doing one market and it quickly blossomed into working 5 local farmers markets and still keeping up with all the chores on the farm. I was one tired puppy by November! We tried to keep the dairy open until the last day of the Poulsbo Farmers Market on December 22nd, but it was just too much for me and I wound up getting sick for the entire month of December. The lesson here is I need more help or I need to reduce my work load.

Hand knit scarf made from Lindsey's hand dyed yarn gift to me on Mother's Day 2014.

Hand knit scarf made from Lindsey’s hand dyed yarn gift to me on Mother’s Day 2014.

I didn’t knit a thing all fall except for one shawl, my youngest gave me 400yds of her hand dyed yarn for Mom’s Day and told me I was only allowed to make something for myself with it. Turned out really nice!

This was taken after a rainstorm last year, it was directly over our house and farm and to me promises that this new year is going to be stellar!!

This was taken after a rainstorm last year, it was directly over our house and farm and to me promises that this new year is going to be stellar!!

Today is January 10th, it’s a Saturday and I have chores and projects to do. I’m taking courses on WordPress Publishing and spend 2 hrs every morning working on that. Then I have more projects like in 2013 – that office I cleaned out is again packed with ‘stuff’. We had to blend my oldest daughters house with ours and that meant moving my two teenage grandsons into one of the bedrooms and everything I had in there had to come out…some of it went into storage and some into the office. I would like to walk around in there again so I need to figure out where to put my old XP computers and organize the books that came out of that room.  I also have to figure out what to do about the knitting room.

Last year we had a power outage during a deep freeze and while trying to fix a broken water main pipe from the well to the house the hot water heater emptied back into the hole we dug! The hot water heater is located in the back of the closet in the knitting room….everything had to come out of there so we could get in and fix the hot water heater, needed two elements that had burned out. So far I’ve got several boxes back in the closet and taken some up to the barn for storage which means more room in there to move around. But I also brought some things from the old storage can (rusty train container) in there that I need to put together, like the motor for the Brother bulky knitting machine. Always wanted to put that together but never had the room. Now I do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Beatrice Ryan Designs

For The Love of Crochet

suelovelli

Sue interviews inspiring women from around East Kent...

crankygrrrrrl

my knitting, pixelated.

Cckittenknits's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

